Members of the public who have donated

Skipton Cycling Club raises £1000 for Airedale Hospital Ward 5

By 22 April 2022No Comments
Skipton Cycling Club presenting a cheque donation to Airedale Ward 5

Members of Skipton Cycling Club recently raised funds and donated £1000 to Airedale Hospital and Community Charity, specifically for Ward 5 (stroke ward) at Airedale Hospital.

Ward 5 is a stroke and neurological rehabilitation ward that provides specialist medical, nursing and therapy support services for people who have had a stroke or suspected stroke.

The cycling club raised funds through selling cycling kit that members no longer wore. The club held an evening event at The Narrow Boat in Skipton, where members were invited to purchase items. This was a huge success and raised over £400. The leftover kit was sorted through and sold on eBay, which raised another £400. The club then generously topped up the total to £1000.

Caran Stephenson, chair of Skipton Cycling Club, said:

“Skipton Cycling Club members were asked to donate items of cycling kit that they no longer wore, we gathered a substantial amount and raised £1000.

“All the remaining kit was donated to the Capital of Cycling organisation in Bradford, who enable people from all ages and communities to get into cycling.

“Skipton Cycling Club wanted to show appreciation to the stroke unit, where a few of our members have received care in recent years.

“Club members cycled to Airedale for the presentation, then made their way out on a challenging 50-mile ride.”

Shinta Joseph, Sister at Airedale NHS Foundation Trust, said:

“We’re extremely grateful for the donation. We hope to purchase some great equipment and specialist chairs that can be used in rehabilitation programmes for patients on Ward 5 at Airedale.

“Thank you to Skipton Cycling Club for supporting us.”


Photographed: Skipton Cycling Club presenting the donation to members of Airedale’s Ward 5 team

L-R back row: Frank Hill (Physiotherapist), Mark Jones, Graham Kirkbright, Shinta Joseph (Sister), Richard Emptage (Welfare Officer), Paul Milnes, Dave Holdsworth, Steve Wilkinson, Neil Smith, Mark Wilkins, Caran Stephenson (Chair)

L-R front row: Karen Kirkbright, Cath Wightman (Secretary), Phil Probst (Membership Secretary)